This is the archived website of former Governor Dannel P. Malloy. These pages are being preserved by the State of Connecticut for historical purposes.

Youth and Urban Violence Commission

The Governor's Youth and Urban Violence Commission, created by Governor Dannel P. Malloy and Lt. Governor Nancy Wyman, is a panel of experts and community leaders from a variety of backgrounds charged with reviewing the sources and causes of youth violence in urban areas, as well as developing proposals that will further reduce the rate of violent crime. The Commission is responsible for identifying risk factors that result in the incidence of violence in high-crime communities and recommending meaningful policies and evidence-based programs designed to reduce violence. Specifically, it is focusing on violence prevention, and reducing or eliminating the risk factors of youth violence through the implementation of statewide, interagency policies.


Nancy Wyman (Chair): Lieutenant Governor, State of Connecticut
Natasha Pierre: State Victim Advocate, Office of the Victim Advocate
Scot Esdaile: President, NAACP Connecticut
Susan Storey: Chief Public Defender, Office of the Public Defender
Mike Lawlor: Under Secretary, Criminal Justice Policy and Planning Division, Office of Policy and Management
Andrew Woods: Executive Director, Communities That Care
Jillian Knox: Coordinator of Victim Services, City of New Haven
Carleton Giles: Chairman, Board of Pardons and Paroles
Brent Peterkin: Statewide Coordinator, Project Longevity
Mark McKinney: Vice President, Health Equity and Health Policy, Saint Francis Hospital
Clayton Northgraves: Director of 911 Services, City of Hartford
Vernon Riddick: Chief, Waterbury Policy Department
Manuel Rivera: Superintendent, New London Public Schools
Megan Quattlebaum: Director, Yale Justice Collaboratory
Andrew Papachristos: Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, Yale University
Karen Jarmoc: CEO, CT Coalition Against Domestic Violence
Judith Meyers: President, Child Health & Development Institute of Connecticut
Alice Forrester: Executive Director, Clifford Beers Clinic
Joe Carbone: President and CEO, The Workplace
Kim Shayo Buchanan: Visiting Professor of Law, UConn Law
Ryan Matthews: Manager of Community Programs and Development, Nutmeg Big Brothers Big Sisters
David McGuire: Staff Attorney, ACLU Connecticut
Scott Jackson: Mayor, Town of Hamden; Incoming Under Secretary for Intergovernmental Policy, Office of Policy and Management
Adrienne CochraneCEO, Urban League of Greater Hartford
Brian FoleyDeputy Police Chief, Hartford Police Department
Samuel S. Gray, Jr.President and CEO, Boys and Girls Clubs of Hartford
Glenn CassisExecutive Director, African American Affairs Commission
Bob Francis: Executive Director, RYASAP
Barbara TinneyExecutive Director, New Haven Family Alliance
Jill SpinetiPresident and CEO, Governor’s Prevention Partnership
Jeana Bracey: Director of School and Community Initiatives, Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut


April 13, 2015: Agenda | Minutes
May 15, 2015: Agenda | Minutes
June 24, 2015: Agenda | Minutes
October 19, 2015: Agenda | Minutes
January 25, 2016: Agenda | Minutes


Documents from Meetings

April 13, 2015: Mike Lawlor Presentation
May 15, 2015: School Discipline in Connecticut 2008-2013
June 24, 2015: Child Health and Development Institute of CT: School-Based Diversion Initiative | Video: School-Based Diversion Initiative

Press Releases

Gov. Malloy and Lt. Gov. Wyman Create Commission on Youth and Urban Violence
Lt. Gov. Wyman Chairs First Meeting of Commission on Youth and Urban Violence