State Police Headquarters Modified Services/Hours
  • Announcement for New Pistol Permit Applicants Only - 5/26/2021
  • Effective June 15, 2020, DESPP-HQ Fingerprint Identification Unit will re-open for in person fingerprinting requestsby appointment only. - 6/5/2020
  • Effective June 15, 2020, DESPP-HQ Reports and Records will re-open for in person requestsby appointment only. For information or to schedule your appointment please click HERE - 6/5/2020
  • At this time, pistol permit renewals will continue to be done by mail only.
  • Fingerprinting Limitations and License Expiration/Renewal extensions; view documentHERE- 4/30/2020
  • Suspension of requirements for unarmed security guards from other states; view documentHERE- 4/30/2020
  • Still regular business hours for Sex Offender Registry and Deadly Weapons Offender Registry- 4/30/2020
  • No service for guard cards (see Governor Lamont’s Executive Order changes to licensing requirements HERE )- 4/30/2020
  • Individuals will be asked to wait outside until called into the building- 4/30/2020


Also Appeals Decision on Public Assistance for the Towns of Bridgewater, New Milford, and Roxbury

(HARTFORD, CT) – Governor Dannel P. Malloy today announced that he has filed an appeal with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) in connection with the May 15 tornadoes and storms that heavily impacted parts of Connecticut, requesting that the denial of individual assistance for homeowners in New Haven and Fairfield Counties be reversed.  The Governor also filed an appeal over the denial of public assistance and individual assistance on behalf of the towns of Bridgewater, New Milford, and Roxbury, all of which are located in Litchfield County and sustained significant damage from the storms.

Earlier this month, FEMA approved Governor Malloy’s request for public assistance for New Haven and Fairfield Counties, allowing state agencies and municipalities within those regions to apply for federal aid that will help pay for some of the costs incurred on public property as a result of the storms.  However, the agency declined the same request for municipalities located within Litchfield County.  At the same time, FEMA denied the Governor’s request to allow individuals living in those municipalities as well as in New Haven and Fairfield Counties to apply for federal assistance that will help pay for costs related to eligible uninsured damage.

“While I am grateful that part of our request for federal aid was granted, we are appealing the decision to deny assistance to homeowners and to those towns in Litchfield County that also sustained significant damage,” Governor Malloy said.  “Approving this request will help communities in these areas recover from these damaging storms.”

**Download: Governor Malloy’s Request for Reconsideration of Partial Denial of Request for Major Disaster Declaration



For Immediate Release: August 30, 2018
Contact: David Bednarz
Office of Governor Dannel P. Malloy
860-524-7315 (office)
860-770-9792 (cell)


Contact: Scott DeVico
Dept. of Emergency Services and Public Protection
203-525-6959 (cell)