State Police Headquarters Modified Services/Hours
  • Announcement for New Pistol Permit Applicants Only - 5/26/2021
  • Effective June 15, 2020, DESPP-HQ Fingerprint Identification Unit will re-open for in person fingerprinting requestsby appointment only. - 6/5/2020
  • Effective June 15, 2020, DESPP-HQ Reports and Records will re-open for in person requestsby appointment only. For information or to schedule your appointment please click HERE - 6/5/2020
  • At this time, pistol permit renewals will continue to be done by mail only.
  • Fingerprinting Limitations and License Expiration/Renewal extensions; view documentHERE- 4/30/2020
  • Suspension of requirements for unarmed security guards from other states; view documentHERE- 4/30/2020
  • Still regular business hours for Sex Offender Registry and Deadly Weapons Offender Registry- 4/30/2020
  • No service for guard cards (see Governor Lamont’s Executive Order changes to licensing requirements HERE )- 4/30/2020
  • Individuals will be asked to wait outside until called into the building- 4/30/2020


The Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection

DESPP LogoIn 2011, in an effort by the state to decrease the number of agencies and reduce costs, another transformation occurred. The Department of Public Safety became the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP). DESPP is comprised of the following six divisions:
Visit DESPP Website

Commission on Fire Prevention and Control

The Commission on Fire Prevention and Control (CFPC) mission of this division is to prevent or mitigate the effects of fire and disasters through leadership and collaboration with municipalities, fire departments and regional fire schools. This is achieved through training, education and professional competency certification of career and volunteer fire service personnel.
Visit CFPC Website

Connecticut State Police

Since 1903, the Connecticut State Police (CSP) has provided a full range of law enforcement services to the State of Connecticut. There are currently 11 troops located throughout the state with State Police troopers providing the primary law enforcement services in 82 of the 169 municipalities in Connecticut. Additionally, the CSP provides major crime, emergency services, cause and origin investigations and traffic and truck enforcement to the entire state.
Visit CSP Website

Emergency Management and Homeland Security

The Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security (DEMHS). Working closely with local, state, federal, tribal, and private sector partners, DEMHS provides a coordinated, integrated program for statewide emergency management and homeland security. The division directs and coordinates all available resources to protect the life and property of the residents of Connecticut in the event of a disaster or crisis, whether natural or manmade, through a collaborative program of prevention, planning, preparedness, response, recovery, mitigation, and public education. This mission includes strategic and operational planning, operations, training and exercise, grants, and disaster relief. DEMHS also coordinates statewide security communications as well as establishes standards and protocols for the use and dissemination of intelligence.
Visit DEMHS Website

Police Officers Standards and Training Council

The Police Officer Standards and Training Council (POSTC) mission is three fold. First: providing innovative, credible and responsive high quality basic, advanced and specialized training to Connecticut police officers. Second: committed to adopting and enforcing professional requirements for individual police officer certification, and Third: provide a body of comprehensive professional law enforcement accreditation standards for state law enforcement agencies, manage such program, grant accredited status to agencies which demonstrate and maintain compliance with applicable standards.
Visit POSTC Website

Scientific Services

Division of Scientific Services The Division of Scientific Services (SS) provides forensic support to local, state and federal agencies throughout Connecticut. This division is divided into three sections: the Chemistry Section (including toxicology, controlled substances, and arson), the Biology/DNA Section, and the Identification Section (including computer crimes).
Visit DSS Website

Statewide Emergency Telecommunications

Division of Statewide Emergency TelecommunicationsThe Division of Statewide Emergency Telecommunications (DSET) provides for the development and maintenance of coordinated state-wide emergency service telecommunications for public safety organizations and the residents of Connecticut. DSET is responsible for the 9-1-1 System, Public Safety Data Network, Public Safety Frequency Coordination, Telecommunicator Training, Geographic Information Systems, the CT Alert Emergency Notification System and support for the consolidation of Public Safety Answering Points.
Visit DSET Website