Drive Only License
Payment Options: Effective January 1, 2020, the "e-check" payment option will no longer be available when scheduling your learner's permit test.
You Can Make an Appointment
for the Learner's Permit Test
for the Learner's Permit Test
Appointments Are Required
Las pruebas sólo con cita previa
TAKE A LOOK AT THE DRIVE ONLY CHECKLIST
Study driver’s manual and then make appointment for the test
(Please Note: This website can be translated into other languages by choosing a language from the drop-down menu above that says "Select Lanuage." )
The Connecticut DMV has started a Drive Only program for undocumented individuals who are 16 and older and cannot establish their legal presence in the United States or may not have a Social Security number. The process involves applying for a learner's permit that can then lead to a Drive-Only license. Learner's permits are now required of all new license applicants regardless of age. The Drive Only license program is authorized under Public Act 2013-89.
In accordance with state law, the purpose of the Drive Only license program is to improve public safety and to try to ensure that all drivers are tested, know how to drive and understand the rules and laws for driving. A Drive Only license is not valid for federal identification purposes, and cannot be used to vote.
The vision and knowledge testing for the Drive Only license is by appointment only. No walk-in service is provided. Once an applicant passes the vision and knowledge tests at a DMV office, he or she will receive a learner's permit by mail.
Those 18 and older must hold the permit for 90 days, while 16 and 17 year-olds have special training requirements and must hold the permit for a longer period of time. A road test is taken after having the learner's permit for the required time for training.
The written knowledge test will be offered in the following languages: English, Spanish, Polish, French, Italian, Portuguese, Mandarin, Chinese, Arabic, and Russian.
DMV will not accept out-of-state transfers of Drive Only licenses at this time. More information will follow on out-of-state transfers of Drive Only licenses.
Please read: Tips to avoid fraud and scam artists who may try to take advantage of undocumented people seeking a driver's license.
Key Points About the Program:
- The program is permanent, so there is no need to rush to make an appointment.
- DMV WILL ACCEPT ONLY ONLINE REGISTRATION FOR APPOINTMENTS. THIS CANNOT BE DONE IN A BRANCH OFFICE.
- Be prepared. Study the Connecticut Driver’s Manual and make sure you have all the required documents needed to apply. **NEW**-Apps for Practice Tests and Other DMV Info
- Review the Drive Only document checklist to see what is required to apply - English version | Spanish version
- Take the 8-Hour Safe Driving Practices Course at a Connecticut Commercial Driving School before your road test. You can take the course at any time prior to the road test.
- If your documents are in a language other than English, they must be translated by a DMV-approved translator.
- Here are the step-by-step detailed instructions on how to apply.
Who is eligible:
- Undocumented residents who cannot establish legal presence in the United States and are at least 16 years-old.
- Undocumented residents who may not have a Social Security number and are at least 16 years-old.
Who is NOT eligible:
- U.S. citizens.
- Documented immigrants and non-immigrants including B-1 and B-2 visitors with unexpired U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) documents.