State Police Headquarters Modified Services/Hours
  • Announcement for New Pistol Permit Applicants Only - 5/26/2021
  • Effective June 15, 2020, DESPP-HQ Fingerprint Identification Unit will re-open for in person fingerprinting requestsby appointment only. - 6/5/2020
  • Effective June 15, 2020, DESPP-HQ Reports and Records will re-open for in person requestsby appointment only. For information or to schedule your appointment please click HERE - 6/5/2020
  • At this time, pistol permit renewals will continue to be done by mail only.
  • Fingerprinting Limitations and License Expiration/Renewal extensions; view documentHERE- 4/30/2020
  • Suspension of requirements for unarmed security guards from other states; view documentHERE- 4/30/2020
  • Still regular business hours for Sex Offender Registry and Deadly Weapons Offender Registry- 4/30/2020
  • No service for guard cards (see Governor Lamont’s Executive Order changes to licensing requirements HERE )- 4/30/2020
  • Individuals will be asked to wait outside until called into the building- 4/30/2020

Connecticut State Police Patch STATE OF CONNECTICUT
Department of Public Safety
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, Connecticut 06457
November 13, 2007

Troopers from TroopS G AND I

Receive Service Awards

State Police Troopers from Troop G in Bridgeport and Troop I in Bethany, along with other area law enforcement officials, received awards for service during a ceremony Tuesday, November 13, at the Connecticut State Police Training Academy in Meriden.

Twice a year, the Connecticut State Police honors troopers who demonstrate bravery and outstanding service in the line of duty.  The ceremony also honors men and women serving in local and federal law enforcement agencies and those serving as first responders.  Award winners received medals and certificates from Department of Public Safety Commissioner John A. Danaher III and State Police Colonel Thomas Davoren.

Awards were presented in four categories:

Ø      The Meritorious Service Medal is awarded to any person who renders service with a high degree of alertness, perseverance and superior judgment in the performance of a difficult task resulting in the protection of life, recovery of property, the prevention of – or solving of – a major crime or the apprehension of an armed or dangerous person.

Ø      The Lifesaving Award is presented to any person who saves a human life or makes a valiant attempt to save a life.

Ø      The Outstanding Service Award is given to any person who successfully performs an extreme, complex or difficult investigation. The person also may demonstrate exceptional skill or ingenuity in the apprehension of a wanted person, provide outstanding service to the public and or continuously achieves excellence in performance of duties over an extended period of time.

Ø      The Unit Citation is awarded to members of a department, a command or group who combine their resources to achieve success in an investigation or event. The citation recognizes exceptional collective efforts. 

Awards were presented to:

New Haven Police Lieutenant Leo Bombalicki  On March 14, 2006, at approximately 9:23 p.m., an armed robbery occurred at a gas station in East Haven. Shortly afterward, East Haven Police Officer David Cari observed and followed the suspect vehicle with two occupants.  When assistance was in place, he attempted to stop the suspect vehicle. The suspect vehicle entered I-95 southbound headed toward the Quinnipiac Bridge in New Haven.

In an effort to flee police, the suspect vehicle rammed several civilian cars. East Haven Police Officers and State Police Troopers, including Detective Daniel Sivori, assisted in stopping the vehicle on the bridge. As officers approached, one suspect engaged Det. Sivori and Officer Cari in an exchange of gunfire and both officer s were wounded.  Lt. Bombalicki arrived on the scene and observed that Det. Sivori had been shot in the chest and leg. Lt. Bombalicki was unaware of the severity of the wounds, but recognized that an ambulance would have trouble negotiating the traffic. He made an immediate decision to drive Det. Sivori to the emergency room. En route, he directed New Haven Police Officers to block off intersections to expedite Det. Sivori’s arrival and treatment.

Lt. Bombalicki was presented with the medal for Meritorious Service.

Trumbull Police Officer James G. Leos and Officer Douglas B. Smith  On January 29, 2007, Officers Leos and Smith responded to a two-car, serious injury accident on Route 15 in Trumbull.  One of the operators was seriously injured and needed to be extricated.  Without hesitation, Officers Leos and Smith entered a hazardous environment by crawling inside the heavily damaged car to render first aid to the injured operator.  The first aid included rescue breathing, cervical immobilization and extrication. Medical personnel on the scene and at the hospital indicated that the swift first aid administered on scene helped save the operator’s life and prevent further disability. 

            Officers Leos and Smith were presented with awards for Lifesaving.

Captain Joe J. Davis  On August 6, 2007, at approximately 1 p.m., Captain Davis was at a mall in Meriden and overheard a commotion.  He observed a woman asking an elderly man several times if he was okay.  The man did not respond and Captain Davis recognized that the man was choking. Captain Davis ran over to perform abdominal thrusts on the choking man. Finally, a piece of food was dislodged from the man’s throat and he was able to breathe. Captain Davis stayed with the man and monitored him until ambulance personnel arrived.

Captain Davis received a Lifesaving award.

          Connecticut Regional Auto Theft Task Force (CRATTF).  CRATTF is responsible for auto theft criminal investigations that occur within the state of Connecticut. The task force also participates in joint investigations with federal, state and local law enforcement agencies, as well as with various insurance investigators. Currently, CRATTF is made up of State Troopers, municipal law enforcement officers, Department of Motor Vehicle Inspectors and agents from the National Insurance Crime Bureau.

In 2006, CRATTF showed a tremendous increase in arrests and stolen vehicle recoveries as a result of criminal investigations conducted. That year, CRATTF had an increase of 190% in stolen vehicle recoveries, recovering 458 stolen motor vehicles valued at nearly $3 million. The CRATTF also increased criminal arrests by 130%, making 117 arrests of persons in possession of stolen vehicles or parts.

The members of the Connecticut Regional Auto Theft Task Force are recognized for their commitment to excellence and their continued dedication to combating auto theft related crime in the state of Connecticut.

Members of CRATTF each receiving a Unit Citation award are:  Lt. Martin Lane, Sgt. Timothy Nolan, Sgt. James Lynch, Sgt. John S. Eckersley, TFC Christopher Bartolotta, TFC Paula Brunetto, TFC Peter Pinelli and TFC Mario Caruso of the Connecticut State Police; Sgt. Howard Koenig of the Department of Motor Vehicles; Det. John Pribesh of the Bridgeport Police Dept.; Sgt. Anthony Zona, Det. Joseph Dease, Det. Andres Diaz and Det. William Hurley of the New Haven Police Dept., Det. Richard Vetter of the Stamford Police Dept.; and Keith Carlough of the National Insurance Crime Bureau.