DEEP is continuing to carry out its mission and provide services while keeping both the public and our workforce safe during the COVID-19 pandemic. Click here for the latest updates on DEEP's response to COVID-19. DEEP COVID-19 Response

General Camping Information

Walk-in campers will not be permitted for the 2021 season.  All campers must make reservations in advance of their stay.  Reservations must include the names of all campers.  Visitors to campsites will not be permitted, only registered campers will be permitted in the campground.

Pursuant to Governor Lamont’s Executive Order 7BBB, all travelers entering Connecticut from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents, or higher than a 10% test positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average, are directed to self-quarantine for a period of 14 days. A list is continually updated as the situation develops across the country. Please review the Connecticut Travel Advisory webpage of Connecticut’s COVID-19 Response website for the current list.

  Two tents under starry night sky


The Connecticut Department of Energy & Environmental Protection provides 1400 campsites throughout the state including 38 rustic cabins for your outdoor enjoyment. Camping areas can be found in a variety of settings including shadowy woodlands, sandy shoreline beaches, inland lakes, and secluded islands. For a great outdoor adventure, spend your vacation with us.  The following information applies to most Park and Forest Campgrounds. Exceptions are noted on the Camping Areas Page.


Alcoholic Beverages
Beer in containers larger than one (1) liter is prohibited. State law limits the possession of alcoholic beverages to individuals 21 years or older. The following campgrounds are alcohol free: Black Rock, Hopeville Pond, Housatonic Meadows, Kettletown, Macedonia Brook and Pachaug State Forest. Please do not bring alcoholic beverages to these facilities. 
Campers may launch car-top boats at Hopeville Pond, Hammonasset Beach, Kettletown, Pachaug State Forest (Green Falls), and Lake Waramaug camping areas.
Cabin Rentals

Cabin Rental Policies

Camping Party
The campsite fee covers six (6) persons, including children.
However, a camp registrant may occupy a campsite with all his/her children under 18 years old for the basic campsite fee regardless of the total number of family members.  Upon check-in, all campers must be registered to the campsite.  Changes and additions to the list of registered campers will not be permitted. 
Camp Visitors
Visitors will not be permitted for the 2021 Camping Season.
During most seasons, visitors are allowed to enter state campgrounds from 8:00 a.m. to sunset and may stay until 10:00 p.m. Daily parking rates apply. Designated parking areas must be used.
Camping equipment, including properly curtained station wagons and vans, is subject to the approval of the supervisor in charge. Trailers and RV's exceeding 35' in length are not permitted. All equipment must be removed from the campsite at the end of each stay.
Fires are permitted in designated fireplaces. Ground fires are strictly prohibited at all State campgrounds. The use of camp stoves is encouraged. Grills are not provided at Hammonasset Beach Campground.
Grounds & Buildings

Campsites are to be kept in a neat, clean, and sanitary condition. Showers, toilets and drinking water are provided in most areas. Dishwashing is prohibited at water taps, in lavatories and showers. Camp areas do not provide laundry units, shelters, or lodges. However, rustic cabins are available to rent at several campgrounds.

The injuring, removal or destruction of any animal or plant material is prohibited. Nails, knives, or other foreign objects may not be driven into trees or park structures, nor may wire or rope be fastened to trees for any purpose including any type of hammock. Sites, including firepits, must be cleaned before departure and picnic tables should be in their original location.

Length of Stay
At Hammonasset Beach and Rocky Neck State Parks, the maximum length of stay is twenty-one consecutive days.  If you have a 21 day reservation, all members of your camping party and your camping equipment must leave the park for 5 days before you can return. At any inland state park campground the maximum length of stay is fourteen consecutive days. Following each stay at an inland campground, regardless of duration, a five day interim period is mandatory for all members of the camping party. Campers may not move to another camping area within the same park or forest during the interim. The camp areas within Pachaug State Forest and Hopeville Pond State Park shall be considered one campground. All equipment must be removed from the campsite at the end of each stay.
The camp day is defined as being from the time of arrival until 12:00 noon. Check-in time is 1:00 p.m.
Minors (under 18) must be accompanied by an adult in attendance who accepts responsibility for the camping party. A camping permit cannot be issued to anyone under the age of 18 years.
Motor Vehicles
No more than two motor vehicles (with proper passes) are permitted on a single campsite, except at Rocky Neck where the limit is one vehicle per campsite. Vehicle passes are nontransferable. The speed limit within campgrounds is ten miles per hour.
Occupancy of the camp lot is required within the first 24 hours. A campsite unoccupied during this initial period is declared an open site and will be reassigned with all payment forfeited. If you are unable to arrive the first night, please telephone the campground. Campers arriving after 10:00 p.m. will be required to set up in a temporary stopover area until the following morning. Transferring or subleasing campsites is strictly forbidden.
Period of Closure
All Department operated campgrounds are closed from January 1 through April 16 to prevent damage during periods of freezing and thawing and to relieve soil compaction.
Pets are prohibited in State Park camping areas. Pets are permitted at State Forest campgrounds (see Campground Directory). When and where permitted, animals are limited to one per campsite and must be held on a leash not to exceed seven feet in length. Dogs must have rabies vaccination and owners may be required to show proof. Pets must not be left unattended.
Quiet Hours
Quiet hours shall be observed between 10:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. Reasonable levels of sound may not be exceeded at any time.
Place your trash and recyclables in the appropriate receptacles provided.
Unreserved Lots
All lots that are not reserved are available on a first-come, first-served basis.
Except as specifically authorized, no firearms, archery equipment or other weapons may be possessed in any campground or recreation area.

Content last updated April 2021