State Police Headquarters Modified Services/Hours
  • Announcement for New Pistol Permit Applicants Only - 5/26/2021
  • Effective June 15, 2020, DESPP-HQ Fingerprint Identification Unit will re-open for in person fingerprinting requestsby appointment only. - 6/5/2020
  • Effective June 15, 2020, DESPP-HQ Reports and Records will re-open for in person requestsby appointment only. For information or to schedule your appointment please click HERE - 6/5/2020
  • At this time, pistol permit renewals will continue to be done by mail only.
  • Fingerprinting Limitations and License Expiration/Renewal extensions; view documentHERE- 4/30/2020
  • Suspension of requirements for unarmed security guards from other states; view documentHERE- 4/30/2020
  • Still regular business hours for Sex Offender Registry and Deadly Weapons Offender Registry- 4/30/2020
  • No service for guard cards (see Governor Lamont’s Executive Order changes to licensing requirements HERE )- 4/30/2020
  • Individuals will be asked to wait outside until called into the building- 4/30/2020

Connecticut State Police Patch STATE OF CONNECTICUT
Department of Public Safety
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, Connecticut 06457
June 26, 2009

                                    STATE POLICE ISSUE 978 CITATIONS      

                                 FOR DISTRACTED DRIVING IN 48 HOURS

                                     Enforcement Efforts by Troopers

The Connecticut State Police have already issued 978 citations to drivers for distracted driving, including the use of cell phones, in an enforcement effort that began this week.

As ordered by Governor M. Jodi Rell, the State Police began a statewide crackdown on distracted driving in the state, a habit that causes far too many accidents on Connecticut’s streets and highways.

During the first 48 hours of the “Hang Up or Pay Up” enforcement efforts, State Police issued 978 tickets, each with a $100 fine.

It has been four years since the state passed a law prohibiting the use of cell phones and hand-held electronic devices by those operating motor vehicles.  The law allows drivers over the age of 18 to use cell phones only with hands-free devices. In 2008 alone, the State Police handed out 10,000 tickets for cell phone violations.

“Reducing the number of distracted drivers will reduce the number accidents that our Troopers see every day on Connecticut roads.  These motor vehicle accidents are preventable, so drivers in our state need to hang up and just drive – or risk getting a ticket from our Troopers,” said Colonel Thomas Davoren, Commanding Officer of the Connecticut State Police.