

SECRETARY OF THE STATE
CONNECTICUT

For Immediate Release: August 8, 2014

For more information: Av Harris: (860) 509-6255 Cell: (860) 463-5939

- PRESS RELEASE -

SECRETARY MERRILL: ONLINE POLLING PLACE LOCATOR TOOL AVAILABLE FOR CONNECTICUT PRIMARIES AUGUST 12TH

SECRETARY OF THE STATE ENCOURAGES ELIGIBLE VOTERS TO USE ONLINE POLLING PLACE LOCATOR BEFORE PRIMARY DAY

HARTFORD: Secretary of the State Denise Merrill is reminding eligible voters in advance of the Connecticut primaries Tuesday August 12, 2014 about the polling place locator tool easily accessed online at www.sots.ct.gov where voters can type in their address and find where their polling place is located. The tool, developed by the Pew Charitable Trusts Voting Information Project (VIP) in partnership with Google and Microsoft, also shows voters a map with directions how to get to their local polling precinct as well as the candidates on the Republican or Democratic primary ballot in their voting district.

"This online polling place locator is a wonderful example of how technology is making it easier than ever to participate in the democratic process," said Secretary Merrill, Connecticut's chief elections official. "By providing this free service to Connecticut's eligible voters, I hope many registered Democrats and Republicans take advantage of easily finding their polling location and go out and exercise their right to vote next Tuesday!"

A direct link to the online polling place locator tool is found at: https://www.votinginfoproject.org/vit/view/ct_primary_election_2014.

Though the deadline to register to vote by mail and online has passed, Secretary Merrill encourages eligible voters who have yet to register to do so in person at town offices by August 11th at noon. Only registered Democrats and Republicans can cast a ballot in the primary. Unaffiliated voters face that same August 11th at noon deadline to enroll with a major party.

Voters can go online to www.sots.ct.gov/vote to see if they are registered to vote and where their polling place is located, register to vote, download an application for an absentee ballot, and view the list of candidates. Absentee ballots for the primary are now available and will be counted as long as town clerks receive them by 8:00 p.m. on Tuesday, August 12th. Polls will be open from 6:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. on August 12, 2014 for registered Republicans and Democrats to cast ballots.

The following primaries reported to the Office of the Secretary of the State will be on the ballot on August 12, 2014 (* denotes party endorsed candidate):

| Office | <u>Party</u> | Candidate |
|----------------------|--------------|--|
| Governor | Republican | *Thomas C. Foley John P. McKinney |
| Lieutenant Governor | Republican | *Penny Bacchiochi Heather Somers David M. Walker |
| Comptroller | Republican | *Sharon J. McLaughlin Angel Cadena |
| State Senate 2 | Democratic | *Shawn Wooden Eric D. Coleman Len Walker |
| State Senate 20 | Democratic | *Elizabeth B. Ritter William L. Satti |
| State Senate 22 | Democratic | *Anthony J. Musto Marilyn Moore |
| State Senate 23 | Democratic | *Andres Ayala, Jr. Scott Hughes |
| Assembly District 7 | Democratic | *Douglas McCroy Donna Thompson-Daniel |
| Assembly District 23 | Republican | *Devin R. Carney Vicki Lanier |
| Assembly District 32 | Democratic | *Kathleen G. Richards Anthony "Tony" Salvatore |
| Assembly District 44 | Democratic | *Christine Rosati Michael Cartier |

| Office | <u>Party</u> | Candidate |
|---|--------------|--|
| Assembly District 47 | Republican | No Endorsement Doug Dubitsky Noah Enslow Michael P. Meadows |
| Assembly District 48 | Democratic | *Linda A. Orange Jason Paul |
| Assembly District 64 | Republican | *Brian Ohler Mark Lauretano |
| Assembly District 122 | Republican | *Ben McGorty Michael C. Vickerelli |
| Assembly District 124 | Democratic | *Ernie Newton Andre Baker |
| Assembly District 128 | Democratic | *Christopher Rosario Christina Ayala Dennis Bradley Teresa Davidson |
| Assembly District 133 | Democratic | *Cristin McCarthy Vahey Matt Waggner |
| Assembly District 137 | Democratic | *David Watts Chris Perone |
| Assembly District 140 | Democratic | *Bruce Morris Warren Pena |
| Assembly District 142 | Republican | *Emily Wilson Fred Wilms |
| Probate District Plainfield/Killingly 27 | Democratic | *Andrea Truppa Anna Zubkova |
| Probate District Madison /Guilford 34 | Republican | *William Bilcheck Gail S. Kotowski |

| Office Registrar of Voters – Bristol | Party Democratic | <u>Candidate</u> *Kevin McCauley |
|--|------------------|--|
| Registrar of Voters - Chaplin | Republican | Mary Rydingsward *Eugene V. Boomer, Jr. William L. Jenkins |
| Registrar of Voters - Danbury | Democratic | *Susan Lewis Ward Margaret F. Gallo |
| Registrar of Voters - Hampton | Democratic | *Marilynn S. Higgins Matthew E. LaFontaine |
| Registrar of Voters - North Stonington | Democratic | *Marilyn MacKay Joan L. Kepler |
| Registrar of Voters - Norwalk | Republican | *John F. Federici Karen Doyle Lyons |
| Registrar of Voters – Somers | Republican | *William Karl Walton III David P. McCaffrey |