

For Immediate Release: August 11, 2014 For more information: Av Harris: (860) 509-6255 Cell: (860) 463-5939

- PRESS RELEASE -

SECRETARY MERRILL: ELECTION HOTLINE TO BE ACTIVATED FOR CONNECTICUT PRIMARIES AUGUST 12TH

SECRETARY OF THE STATE AND STATE ELECTIONS ENFORCEMENT COMMISSION PROVIDE DUAL TELEPHONE AND E-MAIL HOTLINE TO REPORT ISSUES ON PRIMARY DAY

HARTFORD: Secretary of the State Denise Merrill announced today that her office will be opening the election hotline along with the State Elections Enforcement Commission (SEEC) to respond to potential problems at the polls for the upcoming primaries tomorrow, Tuesday, August 12, 2014. To report any issues or concerns on Primary Day voters are asked to call *1-866-SEEC-INFO (1-866-733-2463)* or send an email to <u>elections@ct.gov</u>. Both the hotline and email alert will be monitored throughout the day by staff from both agencies to assist voters with any problems encountered.

"We do not expect any problems for voters tomorrow, but our offices are prepared to address concerns should anything arise for the primaries," said Secretary Merrill, Connecticut's chief elections official. "Voters have multiple ways to contact our offices if there are any concerns this Tuesday. Voters can e-mail or call our offices from their mobile devices or land lines if there are any problems to report. Through our joint efforts and resources, my office and the State Elections Enforcement Commission will do our best to immediately respond to any potential issues."

Voters who utilize the hotline or email may report concerns anonymously, but are asked to state the town and polling place where the problem is occurring and provide as many details as possible. This will aid SEEC and the Secretary of the State's staff to attend to the situation and find a solution in a timely manner. In addition to the email and telephone hotline, the Secretary of the State's office and SEEC will hold two separate conference calls during the day on Tuesday to share information about potential problems or complaints at the polls, and coordinate the appropriate response. Polls will be open for registered Republicans statewide for primaries tomorrow, while registered Democrats can vote in a number of regional and local primaries (complete list of all primaries below). Voters can go online at <u>www.sots.ct.gov/vote</u> to see if they are registered to vote, where their polling place is located, what candidates will be on the ballot, and what type of identification to bring with them to the polls. Polls will be open for the primaries throughout Connecticut from 6:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. on August 12th, 2014.

The following primaries reported to the Office of the Secretary of the State will be on the ballot on August 12, 2014 (* denotes party endorsed candidate):

<u>Office</u>	<u>Party</u>	<u>Candidate</u>
Governor	Republican	*Thomas C. Foley John P. McKinney
Lieutenant Governor	Republican	*Penny Bacchiochi Heather Somers David M. Walker
Comptroller	Republican	*Sharon J. McLaughlin Angel Cadena
State Senate 2	Democratic	*Shawn Wooden Eric D. Coleman Len Walker
State Senate 20	Democratic	*Elizabeth B. Ritter William L. Satti
State Senate 22	Democratic	*Anthony J. Musto Marilyn Moore
State Senate 23	Democratic	*Andres Ayala, Jr. Scott Hughes
Assembly District 7	Democratic	*Douglas McCroy Donna Thompson-Daniel
Assembly District 23	Republican	*Devin R. Carney Vicki Lanier
Assembly District 32	Democratic	*Kathleen G. Richards Anthony "Tony" Salvatore
Assembly District 44	Democratic	*Christine Rosati Michael Cartier

<u>Office</u>	<u>Party</u>	<u>Candidate</u>
Assembly District 47	Republican	No Endorsement Doug Dubitsky Noah Enslow Michael P. Meadows
Assembly District 48	Democratic	*Linda A. Orange Jason Paul
Assembly District 64	Republican	*Brian Ohler Mark Lauretano
Assembly District 122	Republican	*Ben McGorty Michael C. Vickerelli
Assembly District 124	Democratic	*Ernie Newton Andre Baker
Assembly District 128	Democratic	*Christopher Rosario Christina Ayala Dennis Bradley Teresa Davidson
Assembly District 133	Democratic	*Cristin McCarthy Vahey Matt Waggner
Assembly District 137	Democratic	*David Watts Chris Perone
Assembly District 140	Democratic	*Bruce Morris Warren Pena
Assembly District 142	Republican	*Emily Wilson Fred Wilms
Probate District Plainfield/Killingly 27	Democratic	*Andrea Truppa Anna Zubkova
Probate District Madison /Guilford 34	Republican	*William Bilcheck Gail S. Kotowski

Office	<u>Party</u>	<u>Candidate</u>
Registrar of Voters – Bristol Registrar of Voters - Chaplin	Democratic Republican	*Kevin McCauley
		Mary Rydingsward
		*Eugene V. Boomer, Jr.
		William L. Jenkins
Registrar of Voters - Danbury	Democratic	*Susan Lewis Ward
		Margaret F. Gallo
Registrar of Voters - Hampton	Democratic	*Marilynn S. Higgins
		Matthew E. LaFontaine
Registrar of Voters - North Stonington	Democratic	*Marilyn MacKay
		Joan L. Kepler
Registrar of Voters - Norwalk	Republican	*John F. Federici
		Karen Doyle Lyons
Registrar of Voters – Somers	Republican	*William Karl Walton III
		David P. McCaffrey

-30-