

For Immediate Release: July 8, 2014

For more information: Av Harris: (860) 509-6255 Cell: (860) 463-5939

-PRESS RELEASE-

MERRILL: AT LEAST 23 PRIMARIES ON CONNECTICUT BALLOTS ON AUGUST 12TH

SECRETARY OF THE STATE ENCOURAGES UNAFFILIATED VOTERS TO ENROLL WITH MAJOR PARTY IN ORDER TO CAST 2014 STATEWIDE PRIMARY BALLOTS

HARTFORD: Secretary of the State Denise Merrill today announced that registered Democrats and Republicans statewide in Connecticut will be able to vote on August 12, 2014 in at least 23 primaries for state elections. Republican primaries will be held for the offices of Governor, Lieutenant Governor and State Comptroller, as well as a number of state legislative seats and local offices such as Judge of Probate and Registrar of Voters. Registered Democrats, depending on their geographic location, will be able to cast ballots in primaries for various state house and senate seats, Judge of Probate, and Registrar of Voters. There is no statewide Democratic primary on the ballot in 2014, nor is there any primary for federal office. A list of primaries on the ballot for August 12, 2014 can be found below.

"It is important that voters are fully aware of the primaries taking place on August 12th," said Secretary Merrill, Connecticut's chief elections official. "We in Connecticut have a number of open seats in our General Assembly on both sides of the aisle, and many candidates lining up to replace outgoing legislators. I encourage registered Democrats and Republicans to find out about the candidates and make their voices heard on primary day by casting ballots. Critical issues such as our economy and our state budget are at stake and will be impacted by the decisions made by those we choose to represent us in Hartford. The more than 800,000 unaffiliated voters in Connecticut should also know they can take part in choosing Democratic or Republican candidates by enrolling with either party by August 11th at noon."

Secretary Merrill is reminding Connecticut citizens of the upcoming deadline to register to vote in the August 12 primary. Online voter registration and mail-in registration cards must be received by local Registrars of Voters by August 7th. Voting age citizens and 17-year-olds who will turn 18 by the general election can also register in-person at town

offices until Monday, August 11th at 12:00 p.m. Unaffiliated voters face those same deadlines if they wish to enroll with a party in order to vote in the primaries. Any eligible voter can also register online at www.sots.ct.gov

Polls will be open for registered Democrats and Republicans on Primary Day in Connecticut August 12, 2014 from 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Voters can visit www.sots.ct.gov to learn how to register to vote, check their registration status, find their polling location, download absentee ballot applications, and view candidate lists.

The following primaries reported to the Office of the Secretary of the State will be on the ballot on August 12, 2014 (* denotes party endorsed candidate):

<u>Office</u>	<u>Party</u>	Candidate
Governor	Republican	*Thomas C. Foley John P. McKinney
Lieutenant Governor	Republican	*Penny Bacchiochi Heather Somers David M. Walker
Comptroller	Republican	*Sharon J. McLaughlin Angel Cadena
State Senate – 2	Democratic	*Shawn Wooden Eric D. Coleman Len Walker
State Senate – 20	Democratic	*Elizabeth B. Ritter William L. Satti
State Senate – 22	Democratic	*Anthony J. Musto Marilyn Moore
State Senate – 23	Democratic	*Andres Ayala, Jr. Scott Hughes
Assembly District – 7	Democratic	*Douglas McCroy Donna Thompson-Daniel
Assembly District – 23	Republican	*Devin R. Carney Vicki Lanier
Assembly District – 32	Democratic	*Kathleen G. Richards Anthony "Tony" Salvatore
Assembly District – 44	Democratic	*Christine Rosati Michael Cartier
Assembly District – 47	Republican	No Endorsement Doug Dubitsky Noah Enslow Michael P. Meadows

Office Assembly District – 48	Party Democratic	Candidate *Linda A. Orange Jason Paul
Assembly District – 64	Republican	*Brian Ohler Mark Lauretano
Assembly District – 122	Republican	*Ben McGorty Michael C. Vickerelli
Assembly District – 124	Democratic	*Ernie Newton Andre Baker
Assembly District – 128	Democratic	*Christopher Rosario Christina Ayala Dennis Bradley Teresa Davidson
Assembly District – 133	Democratic	*Cristin McCarthy Vahey Matt Waggner
Assembly District – 137	Democratic	*David Watts Chris Perone
Assembly District – 140	Democratic	*Bruce Morris Warren Pena
Assembly District – 142	Republican	*Emily Wilson Fred Wilms
Probate District Plainfield – Killingly – 27	Democratic	*Andrea Truppa Anna Zubkova
Probate District Madison – Guilford – 34	Republican	*William Bilcheck Gail S. Kotowski