

For Immediate Release: July 1, 2014

For more information: Av Harris: (860) 509-6255 Cell: (860) 463-5939

- PRESS RELEASE -

SECRETARY MERRILL AWARDS CT GRADUATING HIGH SCHOOL SENIORS SCHOLARSHIPS FOR 'EXCELLENCE IN CITIZENSHIP'

SECRETARY OF THE STATE HONORS STUDENTS FROM ACROSS CONNECTICUT FOR ACTIVE PARTICIPATION IN THEIR SCHOOL AND COMMUNITY

Hartford: Secretary of the State Denise Merrill today announced the list of graduating Connecticut High School seniors awarded scholarships for 'Excellence in Citizenship. One graduating 12th grader from each of Connecticut's five congressional districts received a scholarship, given to students who in addition to academic performance demonstrated qualities of active participation and leadership in both their community and school, with a commitment to public service.

"The 12th grade recipients of the Excellence in Citizenship Scholarship have gone above and beyond for both their residential and their academic communities," said Secretary Merrill. "As these students venture off to college, I know that they will continue to dedicate their time and service to improving their communities, whether that is in their academic environment or the surrounding community. These young adults are truly an inspiration for others to get more involved in public service, and we are so proud to award these scholarships."

The scholarship for Excellence in Citizenship for graduating Connecticut 12th grade students consists of a \$1,000 award for each of the recipients, sponsored by the Connecticut Citizenship Fund. The Connecticut Citizenship Fund, Inc. is a non-profit organization founded by the Secretary of the State's office in 1992 whose mission is to increase interest and participation in government, particularly in state and local government, increase citizen participation in elections, and enhance school age appropriate civic education programs, and to stimulate involvement in civic activities.

2014 12th Grade Excellence in Citizenship Scholarship Winners



Congressional District 1
Milady Appiah
East Hartford High School, East Hartford



Congressional District 2
Paige Laflamme
Norwich Technical High School, Norwich

Congressional District 3

Bryan Niebanck Joseph A. Foran High School, Milford



Congressional District 4
Chase Caldwell Smith
Wilton High School, Wilton

Congressional District 5

Enxhi Marika Wamogo Regional High School, Litchfield