

For Immediate Release: July 1, 2014

For more information: Av Harris: (860) 509-6255

Cell: (860) 463-5939

- PRESS RELEASE -

SECRETARY MERRILL RECOGNIZES CONNECTICUT GRADUATING 8TH GRADERS FOR 'EXCELLENCE IN CITIZENSHIP'

SECRETARY OF THE STATE HONORS STUDENTS FROM ACROSS CONNECTICUT FOR ACTIVE PARTICIPATION IN THEIR SCHOOL AND COMMUNITY

Hartford: Secretary of the State Denise Merrill today announced the list of graduating Connecticut 8th grade students to win her office's annual Excellence in Citizenship award. One 8th grade student from each of Connecticut's five congressional districts received the award; it is given annually to students who demonstrate active participation in their community as well as having involvement in school related activities, with an emphasis on serving their community. Each student that received the citizenship award was nominated by someone in their community.

"It is a real honor to recognize the recipients of our excellence in citizenship award – each of the winners has devoted their time to demonstrating outstanding dedication to both their school and community," said Secretary Merrill, Connecticut's chief elections official. "I am amazed by each of these students' commitment and participation to their communities and I know that they will continue these efforts for years to come. Hopefully they will also inspire their classmates to follow in their footsteps and get involved in their communities."

The excellence in citizenship awards for 8th grade students come with a \$100 cash prize that is sponsored by the Connecticut Citizenship Fund. The Connecticut Citizenship Fund, Inc. is a non-profit organization founded by the Secretary of the State's office in 1992 whose mission is to increase interest and participation in government, particularly in state and local government, increase citizen participation in elections, and enhance school age appropriate civic education programs, and to stimulate involvement in civic activities.

2014 Excellence In Citizenship Award Winners:

Congressional District 1



Brianna Kearney Smith Middle School, Glastonbury (Left)

Savannah Rummel Stafford Middle School, Stafford Springs (right)

Congressional District 3 Rajan Doering James H. Moran Middle School, Wallingford

School, Wallingford Congressional District 4

Wyatt Hoover John Read Middle School, Redding

Congressional District 5

Jeffery Ward Wamogo Regional High School/Middle School, Litchfield



