

Connecticut

For Immediate Release: December 12, 2014 <u>For more information:</u> Av Harris: (860) 509-6255 Cell: (860) 463-5939

- NEWS RELEASE -

SECRETARY MERRILL AWARDS 2014 DEMOCRACY CUP TO CORNWALL, GUILFORD, GLASTONBURY AND FAIRFIELD FOR HIGHEST VOTER TURNOUT

SECRETARY OF THE STATE AWARDING DEMOCRACY CUP TROPHIES TO CITY, LARGE TOWN, MID-SIZE TOWN AND SMALL TOWN WITH HIGHEST VOTER TURNOUT FOR NOVEMBER 4TH GENERAL ELECTION

Hartford: Secretary of the State Denise Merrill today announced the winners of the 2014 "Democracy Cup" for the highest voter turnout percentage in the 2014 general election in Connecticut to the towns of Cornwall (74.77%), Guilford (71.16%), Glastonbury (68.96%) and the city of Fairfield (56.96%). The award is given annually to the small, mid-sized, large towns and city with the highest voter turnout on Election Day.

"We saw a healthy voter turnout of 56% of registered voters statewide on Election Day in 2014, and nearly 14,000 new voters cast ballots statewide due to Election Day Registration," said Secretary Merrill, Connecticut's Chief Elections Official. "Our small towns yet again really set an example for all of the voters in Connecticut of why elections and participating in democracy are important. I congratulate Cornwall, Guilford, Glastonbury and Fairfield leading the rest of the state in their categories for voter turnout."

Co-sponsored by the East Haddam Civic Association since 2000, the Democracy Cup was created as a way to encourage voter participation in each year's elections. Under Democracy Cup criteria, towns with fewer than 5,000 registered voters are considered small; municipalities with between 5,000 and 14,999 and voters are considered mid-sized, towns with 15,000 and 34,999 registered voters are considered large towns. Cities with more than 35,000 registered voters are their own category.

Overall, statewide voter turnout was 55.57% in the 2014 General Election, slightly less than the last non-Presidential state election turnout of 57.45% in 2010. The Democracy Cup award includes trophies and a ceremony to be planned at a later date.

Democracy Cup Winners 2000-2014

YEAR	SMALL TOWN	MID-SIZE TOWN	LARGE TOWN	Сіту
2014	Cornwall	Guilford	Glastonbury	Fairfield
2012	Bridgewater	Granby	Middletown	Stamford
2011	Hampton	Middlebury	Trumbull	Waterbury
2010	Roxbury	Granby	Simsbury	Stamford
2009	Bridgewater	Orange	East Haven	Stamford
2008	New Hartford	Avon	Newtown	Stamford
2007	East Haven	North Haven	West Hartford	
2006	Union	Westport	West Hartford	
2005	Middlebury	Shelton	West Hartford	
2004	Washington	Wethersfield	Fairfield	
2003	Washington	Naugatuck	West Hartford	
2002	Middlebury	Glastonbury	West Hartford	
2001	Washington	Trumbull	Waterbury	
2000	Essex	Westport	West Hartford	

-30-