

Connecticut Farm Wine Development Council Draft Minutes for July 14, 2016 Meeting



<u>Members Present</u>: Commissioner Steven Reviczky, Chairman, Department of Agriculture (DoAg); Dr. Frank Ferrandino, Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station; Jim Frey, Walker Road Vineyard; Michelle Niedermeyer, Lost Acres Vineyard. By Phone: Linda Auger, Taylor Brooke Winery, Hilary Criollo, Hopkins Vineyard; Jonathan Edwards, Jonathan Edwards Winery; Russell Holmberg, Holmberg Orchards; George Motel, Sunset Meadow Vineyard; Dean Gregory Weidemann, UConn-College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources.

<u>Members Absent</u>: Director Cameron Faustman, Storrs Experiment Station; Jamie Jones, Jones Family Farm & Winery; Commissioner Catherine Smith, Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development.

Other Attendees: DoAg staff.

Call to Order

Commissioner Reviczky called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.

Meeting Minutes Approval

Michelle Niedemeyer moved to accept the January 21, 2016 special meeting minutes, May 12, 2016 meeting minutes, and June 27, 2016 special meeting minutes as presented. Jim Frey seconded and the motion carried unanimously.

Chairman's Report/Financial Report

Commissioner Reviczky reported on the state's budget, Community Investment Account distributions, and recent agency budget changes. A discussion ensued about how this affects council work, including that of the three working groups. A motion was made by Michelle Niedemeyer that each working group submit a work plan and budget by November 11 for discussion at the December 8, 2016 meeting. Dr. Francis Ferrandino seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Passport Working Group

Michelle Niedemeyer will call a meeting of the working group, which consists of Michelle Niedemeyer, Jim Frey, Hilary Crillo, Cara Sawyer from Preston Ridge, Blaze Faillaci from Dalice Elizabeth. A discussion ensued regarding potential venues for a public drawing of prizes.

Big E Working Group

Jonathan Edwards reported that 11 wineries will participate. Rebecca Murphy reported most paperwork is completed for the August 2, 2016 West Springfield Liquor Commission meeting. There will be 17 SKUs, one for each day of tasting. Working group members were listed as Jon Edwards, Cameron Faustman, Linda Auger, Keith Bishop. A fifth member may be added.

<u>Research and Education Working Group:</u> Russ Holmberg reported on the August 9 event to be held at Paradise Hills. Members of this working group are Russ Holmberg, Rich Ruggiero, Paradise Hills, George Motel, Jr., Sunset Meadow, and Dr. Ferrandino.

Old Business

Public Comment: None.

<u>New Business</u>

Public Comment: None.

<u>Adjournment</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 11:47 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted by Jane Slupecki, July 14, 2016