MINUTES

Connecticut Product Stewardship Council CRRA Visitor's Center 211 Murphy Road Hartford, CT Tuesday, October 20, 2009, 10:00 am – 12:00 pm

Attendance: Tom Metzner, DEP; Joe Hellauer, Woodbridge; Cyndi Pecca, Woodbridge; Michael Bisi, Glastonbury/Capitol Region East Operating Committee; Sheila Baummer, Naugatuck; Marge Warner, Woodbury; Cheryl Reedy, HRRA; Jeff Cormier, COGCNV; Brian Bartram, LHCEO/NWCCOG; Edward Reagan, SSRRA; Peg Hall, Branford; Lori Vitagliano, HazWaste Central; Blythe Robinson, Avon; Robert Martin, Avon; Melissa Maciag, DEP; Kevin Sullivan, DEP; Kim O'Rourke, Middletown; Robert Hillman, Newington; Monica Skeldon, Yale University; Michael Hornsby, Public Service Enterprise Group; Judy Belaval, DEP; Mark Bobman, Tunxis Recycling; Roger Smith, Clean Water Action; Winston Averill, SCRRRA; Peter Egan, CRRA; Kachina Walsh-Weaver, CCM; Janice Ehle/Meyer, CRERPA

1. Introduction

a. *Elect chairperson* - Tom Metzner called the meeting to order at 10:00 am. He recommended that those present should select a chairperson because it was the first official council meeting. On a motion by Cheryl Reedy, seconded by Joe Hellauer, it was unanimously

VOTED: To approve Jeff Cormier as the chairperson of the Connecticut Product Stewardship Council

b. *Review of Council structure, rules* - Jeff Cormier explained that the Council consists of Members and Partners. Members sign the letter of agreement, commit staff time to attend meetings and participate in conference calls, support the mission and objectives of the Connecticut Product Stewardship Council, call meetings, make decisions, establish rules, and are authorized to act on behalf the Council. Partners sign the letter of agreement, participate in meetings and conference calls, support the mission and objectives of the Connecticut Product Stewardship Council, support the mission and objectives of the act on behalf the Council. Partners sign the letter of agreement, participate in meetings and conference calls, support the mission and objectives of the Connecticut Product Stewardship Council, serve on committees, but are not allowed to vote.

Tom Metzner said that the town of New Canaan is interested in becoming a member, but currently cannot commit staff time to attend Council meetings. The Council agreed that New Canaan and others should be allowed to become members and be allowed to participate in the future.

c. *Decision making process* - Jeff Cormier said that each member of the Council, whether it is an organization, municipality, or regional entity, has one vote. If consensus is not reached, decisions are made by majority vote.

2. E-waste update

a. Program status - Tom Metzner reported that the Electronics Waste law is

currently in the public comment period which ends on October 30. After the comment period, there are several administrative steps before it goes to a legislative regulations review committee with a target date of February 2010. A certified vendor list should be posted by May or June of 2010, and the law is scheduled to be implemented in late June or July of 2010. Also, the containers for electronics are reimbursable costs if provided by the vendor and printers are proposed to be added to the Covered Electronics Devices (CED's) list.

3. Paint initiative update

- a. 9/22/09 meeting review Tom Metzner gave a review of the meeting with Alison Keane of the National Paint and Coatings Association (NPCA). Connecticut has an opportunity to work with NPCA and create paint legislation that will reduce municipality costs of hazardous waste by having manufacturers pay for the end of life management of their products. Utilizing the current framework for hazardous waste collection in the state, NPCA would coordinate the disposal of paints and assess a fee to retailers to cover this cost.
- b. *Thoughts on CT program* Lori Vitagliano explained the logistical issues that were raised at the meeting by potentially having different vendors handling hazardous waste and paints at events. Despite the issues, those present at the meeting were encouraged by the program and potential cost savings for towns. She said it is important to work on the framework/legislation and implementation simultaneously so Connecticut does not miss this opportunity.

Cheryl Reedy said that one of the state representatives on the Environmental Committee is interested in sponsoring the paint legislation and another representative on the committee thought it was likely to pass if it were a bill raised by the Environment Committee. She urged that towns contact their representatives to support the paint initiative of the Connecticut Product Stewardship Council.

4. Council direction

Roger Smith explained that the Council should examine opportunities to act on other products in the future, such as thermostats. It would be advantageous to coordinate with other organizations that are working on similar projects.

Edward Reagan suggested the Council create committees to advance the paint initiative and evaluate priorities. Cheryl Reedy, Lori Vitagliano, Jeff Cormier, and Marge Warner volunteered to participate in the paint committee. Lori Vitagliano, Edward Reagan, Janice Ehle/Meyer, and Kim O'Rourke volunteered to participate in the product stewardship priorities committee. Tom Metzner also suggested a committee to encourage membership. Tom Metzner and Judy Belaval volunteered to participate in the membership committee. On a motion by Cheryl Reedy, seconded by Edward Reagan, it was unanimously

VOTED: To create the Paint Initiative Committee, Product Stewardship Priority Committee, and Membership Committee.

Edward Reagan suggested that the Council should officially support the paint initiative. On a motion by Sheila Baummer, seconded by Edward Reagan, it was unanimously

VOTED: To support the Connecticut Product Stewardship Paint Initiative.

Kachina Walsh-Weaver said that towns should send a letter to CCM regarding the paint initiative to inform others and support the program. Tom Metzner also said a letter of support can be sent to the commissioner of DEP.

The Council agreed to hold quarterly meetings, but committees may meet as frequently as necessary to address business in a timely fashion. Meetings may rotate to different locations and the next meeting will be in January, 2010.

5. Adjournment – At 11:47 a.m., on a motion by Edward Reagan, seconded by Lori Vitagliano, it was unanimously

VOTED: To adjourn the meeting.

Submitted by Jeff Cormier